Windsor University Logo
Close this search box.


Posted May 11, 2016

Toronto, May 7th, 2016 – The Windsor University School of Medicine (WUSOM), St. Kitts & Nevis, had their commencement ceremony for the Medical Graduates residents of Canada, United States, Nigeria, St. Kitts & Nevis, and other parts of the world. This international event was held on May 7th, 2016 at the Metro Toronto Convention Center, Toronto, Ontario.

The Commencement Ceremony was attended by The Honourable Prime Minister of St. Kitts & Nevis, Dr. Timothy Sylvester Harris and Dr. Shafiq Qaadri, MPP of Etobicoke North area, and the Parliamentary assistant to the premier of Ontario along with Physicians from United States as well as Alumni of WUSOM who are now practicing physicians in various parts of Canada.

“A 2012 report by the Health Human Resource team of the Canadian Institute for Health information found one quarter of Canada’s doctors are trained abroad” said Dr. Timothy S. Harris, The Honourable Prime Minster of St. Kitts & Nevis. “It is indeed apparent that strides have been made in Canada for International Medical Graduates. I am Happy that the WUSOM is welcoming Canadian Citizens and Residents to its Medical Program, and I encourage you to take advantage of this opportunity for high quality education”. The Prime Minister also pointed out that “WUSOM has increased accessibility and affordability of the Medical School”.

The Chief Guest, Dr. Shafiq Qaadri, MPP and Parliamentary Assistant to the Premier of Ontario congratulated the Graduating Class of 2016 personally and on behalf of the parliament. Dr. Qaadri spoke about his personal experience of the medical student’s struggle to the innovation of “drone warfare to drone health-fare” where drones are to be delivering medications to the public. The highlight of the event was when Dr. Qaadri came on stage and sang the National Anthem of Canada spontaneously, to everyone’s surprise without any assistance.

The Valedictorian was Dr. Sushil Singla, a Canadian resident, who was able to obtained residency in the United States this year. The Salutatorians were Dr. Sana Usman and Dr. Abeeb Babatunde Oyedele.

The event was also attended by several members of WUSOM faculty, including the interim President Dr. Brijender K. Gupta, and Academic Dean Dr. Andy Vaithilingam.

Several board members were also in attendance including the chairperson Mrs. Vinomani Gaddam, Board member Mr. John W. Jones, and Board member Dr. Vidya S. Kora who opened the ceremony with the Welcome Remarks.