Windsor University Surrounded by Natural Beauty in St. Kitts

The Federation of Saint Christopher (St. Kitts) and Nevis located in the Leeward Islands is a federal two-island country in the West Indies. Intoxicating natural beauty, sunny skies, warm waters, and white sandy beaches combine to make St. Kitts one of the most seductive spots in the Caribbean. It is situated about 2,100 km (1,300 miles) southeast of Miami, Florida. Apply today, and study medicine in an inspired setting.

Constitutional Monarchy

When Christopher Columbus explored the islands in 1493, they were inhabited by the Carib people. Today, most of the inhabitants are the descendants of African slaves. The British settled on St. Kitts—formerly St. Christopher—in 1623, and on Nevis in 1628. The French settled on St. Kitts in 1627, and an Anglo-French rivalry lasted for more than 100 years. After a decisive British victory over the French at Brimstone Hill in 1782, the islands came under permanent British control. The islands, along with nearby Anguilla, were united in 1882. They joined the West Indies Federation in 1958 and remained in that association until its dissolution in 1962. St. Kitts–Nevis-Anguilla became an associated state of the United Kingdom in 1967. Anguilla seceded in 1980, and St. Kitts and Nevis gained independence on Sept. 19, 1983.

Samuel Weymouth Tapley Seaton

Prime Minister
Dr. the Honourable Timothy Sylvester Harris

English is the Official Language of Communication

Monetary Unit
East Caribbean dollar (EC $)
Conversion rate: 1 US $ = 2.7 EC $ (fixed rate)

Total area: 101 sq mi (261 sq km). St. Kitts, 65 sq mi (168 sq km); Nevis, 36 sq mi (93 sq km)

Population: 50,726

Capital: Basseterre

Living in St. Kitts
The first 4 semesters of pre-clinical training are completed on our St. Kitts campus. The 16 months you spend here will likely be one of the most intense and unforgettable experiences of your life, made even more so by the extraordinary environment of St. Kitts.

St. Kitts is located in the Leeward Islands at the northern end of the Lesser Antilles, approximately 220 miles southeast of San Juan, Puerto Rico. Together with her sister island, Nevis, St. Kitts is an English-speaking member of the British Commonwealth of Nations that continues to recognize the British monarch as the head of state. The name of the capital, Basseterre, reflects the French heritage of much of St. Kitts’ history. Until recently, St. Kitts and Nevis were primarily agricultural, with sugar cane as the main crop; however, new road construction and economic growth are beginning to bring the islands into the mainstream of the tourism industry, and they are becoming known as pleasant and comfortable vacation destinations.